Workers’ compensation claims in Florida are designed to provide a financial safety net to workers who become ill or are injured on the job. This compensation can include reimbursement for medical treatment and other expenses, permanent disability benefits, and income replacement benefits.
You need to submit workers’ compensation claims in Florida to the Florida Division of Workers’ Compensation. Keep in mind that you should submit your claim within a strict time period or you may lose your right to receive benefits.
Process for Filing Workers’ Compensations Claims in Florida
In Florida, if you want to file a workers’ compensation claim, you need to follow these steps:
- Notify your employer of the injury or illness immediately: If you are injured or fall ill due to an accident in the workplace, you will need to notify your employer within 30 days of the date of the incident, or from when the first signs of your illness appear. If you fail to notify your employer, you may become ineligible to receive benefits from Florida workers’ compensation, or there may be a delay in the receipt of your benefits. Make sure to provide as much detail as possible, including:
- When the accident took place
- How you injured yourself, or how you became ill
- What symptoms you are experiencing
- Seek medical attention immediately: You need to seek medical attention without delay as the medical provider who treats you for your injury must be notified that your injury or illness is directly related to your job in one way or the other. The doctor can provide evidence that plays an important role in proving that your injury is work-related if you later need to provide proof to receive workers’ compensation.
- Submit your workers’ compensation claim: As mentioned earlier, you need to file your workers’ compensation claim with the Florida Division of Workers’ Compensation (DWC) – do this as soon as you can after sustaining the injury or becoming ill. You will need to file your claim within 2 years of your injury or ailment, or you will risk losing healthcare and income replacement benefits, among other workers’ compensation benefits.
Follow these steps to make sure that you file your Florida workers’ compensation claim properly and you get the benefits you are entitled to as soon as possible.
What happens after reporting your injury?
Once you notify your employer of your injury or illness, they must report your claim to its insurance provider within 7 days. If they do not report your injury, you can get in touch with the insurance company directly. The company will then begin an investigation to determine if you are eligible to receive benefits. Its investigation may involve the following:
- A review of your medical health records
- An evaluation of your education, work experience as well as wages
- An assessment of your condition by ordering a medical examination with a healthcare provider of their own
- An evaluation of your ability to perform work-related duties by sending you for a functional capacity evaluation
Under Florida law, your employer’s insurance provider must either approve or deny your benefits from workers’ compensation promptly. If it approves your claim, you will stand to receive disability payments as well as other benefits. The bad news is that insurance companies often deny a large number of workers’ compensation claims, which is why you may need the help of an experienced workers’ comp attorney.
If you need to file a worker’s compensation claim, contact Florida Worker’s Compensation Help Center. We handle workers’ comp claims across Florida and will represent your case no matter how complex it may be. Call us at 844-WORK-LAW for a free consultation.